Is Häagen-Dazs Ice Cream Gluten Free?

Posted on 11 Oct 2012 21:15




Whether Häagen-Dazs Ice Cream is gluten free depends on the particular flavor of ice cream and its ingredients. For instance, Häagen-Dazs Chocolate ice cream does not contain any sources of gluten: cream, skim milk, sugar, cocoa processed with alkali, and egg yolks. On the other hand, their Cookie & Cream flavor has gluten because the cookies are made with wheat flour. But what about hidden sources of gluten, such as from additives, natural flavoring, etc. Well, according to the company, "as a general rule, the gluten in our frozen dessert products is present only in added bakery products such as cookies, cake, or brownies."

This information should mean that any product that contains gluten will clearly list wheat (or perhaps another gluten-containing grain), in paranthesis after the bakery item the product contains. For example, the ingredients for Häagen-Dazs Cookies & Cream:

cream, skim milk, sugar, egg yolks, vanilla extract, chocolate cookie pieces (wheat flour, sugar, coconut oil, cocoa processed with alkali, baking soda, chocolate, salt)

This should make it easy to determine what flavors are gluten free, however, the language "as a general rule" is extremely imprecise so those with celiac or gluten sensitivity should use caution in regards to flavors that contain potential hidden sources of gluten. It is unlikely that any of their products without a bakery ingredient contains any gluten, however, because the only ingredient that could be considered suspect in most of their products is "natural flavor." As a rule, if a natural flavor is derived from wheat, it must give a warning on the label. And if it was derived from barely, it would most likely be listed as some form of malt. It is doubtful that any of the natural flavors in Häagen-Dazs uses any wheat or barley. And rye would seem and extremely remote possibility.


Häagen-Dazs Chocolate Ice Cream



The company has not actually guaranteed that non-bakery-containing flavors are gluten free but it seem that the customer can be assured that most of their products are gluten free.

The flavors whose ingredients do not list any obvious or potential hidden sources of gluten, and that can therefore be fairly certain to be gluten free are:

  • Banana Split
  • Butter Pecan
  • Bananas Foster
  • Cherry Vanilla
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Coffee
  • Crème Brûlée
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Five: coffee, lemon, milk chocolate, vanilla bean1
  • Green Tea
  • Java Chip
  • Mango
  • Mint Chip
  • Pineapple Coconut
  • Pistachio
  • Pralines & Cream
  • Rocky Road
  • Rum Raisin
  • Strawberry
  • Vanilla
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Vanilla Chocolate Chip
  • Vanilla Swiss Almond
  • White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle

We make no guarantees, of course, that these are any other manufactured product is gluten free and those who must eat a gluten free diet must determine for themselves what products are appropriate for their diet. According to the ingredients of the products, and the information that the company gives on it's website concerning gluten in Häagen-Dazs Ice Cream products, the above products can be considered gluten free. This information is provided for those who have been medically confirmed to have a need for a gluten-free diet and in no way should be taken to mean that Ground Up Strength endorses the general "gluten free living" trend.

Häagen-Dazs has Cocoa Processed with Alkali, could cocoa powder have gluten?

This information is provided for those who have been medically confirmed to have a need for a gluten-free diet and in no way should be taken to mean that Ground Up Strength endorses the general "gluten free living" trend.


© 2016 by Eric Troy and Ground Up Strength. All Rights Reserved. Please contact for permissions.