Are Soba Noodles Gluten Free?

Posted on 16 Sep 2013 13:23

Follow on Youtube

Soba noodles are a Japanese noodle made from buckwheat. In fact the word soba means buckwheat, which is, despite the name, not a grain.

Buckwheat is not related to cereal grasses at all, in fact, and instead comes from the seed of a plant in the dock family.

However, since buckwheat does not contain gluten, doughs made from it lack the elasticity and springiness that make it easy to stretch into noodles. Therefore, although some soba noodles may be made from one hundred percent buckwheat, many will have varying amounts of wheat or other gluten containing grains flours added to improve the texture.

Also, buckwheat flour is more expensive than other flours, so starchy flours may be used to offset the cost.

The only way to tell if a soba noodle is gluten free is to check the ingredients to see if the noodles contain wheat or any other gluten containing grain, in addition to the soba.

If you are particularly sensitive to gluten, you may also want to be sure that any 100% soba noodles you purchase are guaranteed gluten-free, as they may have been made in a facility that also makes gluten containing noodles or other products, and there is no guarantee that strict measures are used to separate gluten containing foods from gluten-free ones.

dried bundles of soba noodles

Although buckwheat is gluten-free, not all soba noodles
are made from 100% buckwheat. Therefore, many soba noodles
may contain gluten.

Look for an allergen statement, near the bottom of the product's nutrition panel, that explains whether the product was manufactured on equipment that also processes wheat or other grains.

This information is provided for those who have been medically confirmed to have a need for a gluten-free diet and in no way should be taken to mean that Ground Up Strength endorses the general "gluten free living" trend.

© 2020 by Eric Troy and Ground Up Strength. All Rights Reserved. Please contact for permissions.