Cervical Spine

Follow on Youtube

Cervical Spine: Also known as the neck, is comprised of seven vertebral bodies (C1-C7) that make up the upper most part of the spine. These vertebrae connect the spine to the skull. The first vertebra (C1), at the top of the spine, is called the atlas and is articulates with the base of the skull at the occipital condyles. The second cervical vertebra (C2), is called the axis. These two vertebra are shaped differently than the rest of the cervical vertebra C3 through C7. See a further description of the cervical vertebrae.

diagram of cervical spine, with atlas and axis labelled

Cervical Vertebrae of Spine

This page created 10 Oct 2011 16:27
Last updated 02 Mar 2016 03:52

© 2020 by Eric Troy and Ground Up Strength. All Rights Reserved. Please contact for permissions.